Turabian / Chicago Style - History

The bibliography is a separate page at the end of your paper, listing all the sources used in alphabetical order. It's a comprehensive list of works related to your subject, and you might consider calling it a "Selected Bibliography" for accuracy.

Here are some key differences between footnotes and bibliographies:

Bibliography entries are organized alphabetically by the author's last name (e.g., Jones, Mark).
Periods are used to separate different pieces of information in bibliography entries.
Complete source information is provided in bibliographies, rather than specific page numbers.
Bibliography entries start at the left margin, with subsequent lines indented by 5 spaces.

In both footnotes and bibliographies, if an author's name is missing, move on to the next element as it should appear. Alphabetize the list based on the first letter of each entry, whether it's a last name or a title.

Book with 1 author

Nadler, Steven. A Book Forged in Hell: Spinoza’s Scandalous Treatise and the Birth of the Secular Age. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2011.

Boyer, Paul S. Purity in Print: Book Censorship in America from the Gilded Age to the Computer Age. 2nd ed. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2002.

Book with 2 authors

Marwell, Gerald, and Pamela Oliver. The Critical Mass in Collective Action. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.

Book with 3 authors

Child, Julia, Louisette Bertholle, and Simone Beck. Mastering the Art of French Cooking. New York: Knopf, 1961.

Book with more than 3 authors

Geller, Anne Ellen, Michele Owen, Frank Johnson, Tristan Jones, Louis Bissett, and Jonathan Howell. The Everyday Writing Center. Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 2007.

Book without an author

CIA World Factbook. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2009.

Work in an anthology or collection of works by different authors

Dunlavy, Colleen. “Why Did American Businesses Get So Big?” In Major Problems in American Business History, edited by Regina Blaszczyk and Philip Scranton. New York: Houghton- Mifflin, 2006. 257-263.

Newspaper article (print)

Marshall, Tyler. "200th Birthday of Grimms Celebrated." Los Angeles Times, 15 March 1985, sec. 1A, p. 3.

Journal article (print)

Sánchez, Raúl. “Outside the Text: Retheorizing Empiricism and Identity.” College English 74 (2012): 234- 246.

Interview

Davidson, Richard. Interview by author. Madison, WI, April 20, 2012.

DVD

Soderbergh, Steven, director. Che. DVD. New York: Criterion Collection, 2008.

Electronic book (e-book)

Note: you may use either the URL or database name.

Adams, Ian, and R.W. Dyson. Fifty Major Political Thinkers. London: Routledge, 2003. Accessed December 3, 2015. site.ebrary.com/lib/surricc/detail.action?docID=10211497.

Paine, Thomas. Rights of Man: Being an Answer to Mr. Burke's Attack on the French Revolution, Part 1. London: G.P. Putnam, 1894. Accessed November 16, 2015. ProQuest Ebrary.

Gladwell, Malcolm. Outliers: The Story of Success. Boston: Little, Brown, 2008. Kindle.

Journal article (online)

Note: you may use either URL, database name, or DOI number (if available).

Nash, David. "The Gain from Paine." History Today 59 (June 2009): 12-18. Accessed December 2, 2015. ProQuest Central.

Cooper, Mary H. "Social Security Reform." CQ Researcher Online 14 (September 24, 2004): 790. Accessed November 19, 2015. http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre.

Wandel, Lee Palmer. “Setting the Lutheran Eucharist.” Journal of Early Modern History 17 (1998): 124-55. doi: 10.1163/157006598X00135.

Magazine article (online)

Note: you may use either URL, database name, or DOI number (if available).

Ehrenreich, Barbara. “Real Patriots Speak Their Minds." Time (July 8, 1991): 66. Accessed December 2, 2015. ProQuest Research Library.

Conason, Joe. "Liberalism Is as Patriotic as Apple Pie." Salon (July 7, 1998). Accessed November 19, 2015. http://www.salon.com/news/col/cona/1998/07/07/cona/index.html.

Newspaper article (online)

Chen, David W. "Rehabilitating Thomas Paine, Bit by Bony Bit." New York Times (March 30, 2001). Accessed November 6, 2015. http://search.proquest.com/docview/431684606.

Website

Kreis, Steven. "Thomas Paine, 1737-1809." The History Guide: Lectures on Modern European Intellectual History. Last modified May 30, 2015. Accessed November 4, 2015. http://www.historyguide.org/intellect/paine.html.

ChatGPT or Artificial Intelligence Model

You should not cite ChatGPT in your Bibliography or Reference List. The URL created by your prompt are not stable and cannot be reproduced by your instructor. ChatGPT should be treated like an email, phone, or text conversation, or another form of personal communication. Simply put the ChatGPT (or other AI model) information in a footnote in your paper.

Tweet or other social networking post

Thomas Paine Society. Twitter Post. June 16, 2015, 8:05 PM. https://twitter.com/CitizenPaine.

YouTube or video on a website

GEICO Insurance. “GEICO Hump Day Camel Commercial – Happier than a Camel on Wednesday.” Filmed [May 2013]. YouTube video, 00:30. Posted [May 2013]. http://youtu.be/kWBhP0EQ1lA.