Skip to main content

Success Resources: Services

Tutor.com logoIn-Person Tutoring
*Unavailable until further notice.*

ASC tutors will work with you via Microsoft Teams or Blackboard Collaborate. Email fowlerd@surry.edu (math/sciences) or cockerhamj@surry.edu (writing/humanities/social sciences) for more information.

Online Tutoring
Free 1-on-1 online tutoring available via the Tutor.com link in your Moodle course page or on the SCC Moodle homepage.

Workshop Videos

Note-Taking & Time Management
Facilitator: Dr. Dawn Worley, Office Administration Instructor

Get Organized!
Facilitator: Mitzi Poore, Business Technologies Instructor

Academic Advising

Melissa Recknor
Advising Director
Phone: 336-386-3628
Email: recknorm@surry.edu

Tech Help

Technology Services Help Desk
Phone: 336-386-3434
Email: helpdesk@surry.edu​​​
Visit: E-135, help desk staff available

Financial Aid

Andrea Simpson
Director
Phone: 336-386-3263
Email: simpsona@surry.edu

Summer 2020 Tutoring

  • Chemistry:
    • CHM-131 | CHM-151 | CHM-152 (Microsoft Teams)
      • Available Tuesday 2-4pm ; Wednesday 12-2pm ; Friday 12-2pm
      • Contact Jasmine Narehood in any Team for details.
  • Math: Contact Donald Fowler at fowlerd@surry.edu
    • Drop-in Math Help(Microsoft Teams)
      • Available Mon.-Thur., 9am-12pm & 2-5pm ; Friday, by appointment only.
      • Use the Tutor.com link in Moodle for calculus and physics help.
  • Writing/Social Sciences/Humanities:Contact Jesse Cockerham at cockerhamj@surry.edu
    • Drop-in help (Microsoft Teams)
      • Available Mon.-Thur., 8am-12pm ; Friday, by appointment only
      • Sign up for an appointment!
  • Tutor.com FREE 24/7 Online Tutoring (Access in Moodle):
    • Free online tutoring available in most subject areas (view full info)
    • Use the Tutor.com link available in Moodle course pages or on the Moodle homepage.

Career Services

Rachel Hiatt
Jobs Connect / Workforce Specialist
Phone: 336-386-3291
Email: hiattr@surry.edu

Short-Term Counseling

Anne Marie Woodruff
Counselor
Phone: 336-386-3247
Email: woodruffam@surry.edu

Disability Services

Laura Braken
Director
Phone: 336-386-3443
Email: brakenl@surry.edu

Disability Service
1-800-735-2962 (TTY)
1-800-735-8262 (voice)​​​