Carlos P. Surratt Genealogy Room

A collaborative project to preserve and share records related to the history of communities in Surry County, NC.

The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.

A resource to help individuals find historical and genealogical information on African-Americans in North Carolina.
This website was created by UNCG, if you can't access a document ask a librarian at Surry Community College.

36 newspaper titles in this exhibit.

esources for African American research fall into two periods: pre-and post-Civil War. Post-Civil War research consists of consulting the same record types as non-African-Americans. Pre-Civil War records consist of slave importation declarations, plantation records, emancipation records, apprenticeship bonds for freedmen, North Carolina hiring practices, census records, white family records, church and cemetery records, military records, vital records, and numerous North Carolina court records. African American vital records were usually recorded in separate books for many years.

427 photographs and group portraits in this exhibit.

14 programs, pamphlets, and souvenir programs in this exhibit

"Provides access to the databases of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, including the Ancestral File, IGI, Family History Library Catalog, and other publications."

*Access available with a free State Library of NC card*

From Ancestry, Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

The National Genealogical Society (NGS) offers two versions of a Pedigree Chart (sometimes called an Ancestor Chart) and one version of the Family Group Sheet.

The Government and Heritage Library subscribes to several online databases, many of which are available outside the library with your free State Library card.

From the State Library of North Carolina. This guide helps to find indexes to genealogical information in Newspapers. These indexes are located in the State Library Genealogical Research Room unless otherwise indicated.

Collection of links to online databases that may be of interest to individuals researching African American genealogy. Please note that some of these resources can only be accessed from a computer on UNC's campus or with a UNC Onyen.
Ask a Surry librarian if you need help.

Google News Archive is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century. There is a timeline view available, to select news from various years.

216 photographs in this exhibit

11,223 issues
Aug 30, 1823 - Dec 31, 2004

533 yearbooks, newsletters, programs and more in this exhibit

19 programs, newsletters, annual reports and more in this exhibit

A very large digital collection from UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.

Working as an addition to and evolution of the Digital Library on American Slavery, the project is leading towards a unique, centralized database of bills of sales indexing the names of enslaved people from across North Carolina and the South.

A searchable database of the Social Security death index.

Search by address, owner name, parcel number, or deed reference.

Including schools from the early 1900s.