Skip to main content

APA Style

Article from a library database

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of the article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), pages. doi or journal homepage URL or database information

Examples:

Gilbert, P. (2009). Human adjustment and the problem of death. Death Studies, 33(8), 771-774. doi:10.1080/07481180903070509

Johnson, L. (2015). Computer and video games: the impact on children's health. Journal of Child Health, 45(2), 64-65. Retrieved from http://chc.sagepub.com

Philpot, M., & Banerjee, S. (1998). Obsessive-compulsive disorder in the elderly. Behavioural Neurology, 11(2), 117-121. Retrieved from ProQuest Central database

Cite an Article Here (select Digital tab)

Print books

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Book title. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Examples:

Cross, E. (1990). The comprehensive encyclopedia of early Christianity. New York: Garland.

Dunkling, L., & Gosling, W. (1984). The complete American dictionary of first names. New York: Facts on File.

Ferguson, R., Smith, P., & Livingstone, E. (Eds.). (1997). The Oxford dictionary of the Christian church. New York: Oxford University Press.

Cite a Print Book Here

E-books

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year of publication). Name of ebook. Place of Publication: Publisher. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Dawkins, R. (1976). The selfish gene. New York: Oxford. Retrieved from http://ebrary.com

Cite an eBook Here (select Digital tab)

Websites

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of page. Retrieved from https://randomwebsite.com

Example:

Scribe, A. (2006). APA documentation. Retrieved from http://www.docstyles.com/apa

Cite a Website Here

Article on a website

Basic Form:

Author, F.M. (Date of publication). Title of webpage/article. Title of overall website. Retrieved from URL

Examples:

Blythe, A. (2017, August 15). Governor and NC media settle lawsuit over McCrory's records Here's what they agreed to. Raleigh News & Observer. Retrieved from http://www.newsobserver.com/news/politics-government/state-politics/article167408167.html

What to make of Roy Cooper's pipeline fund. (2018, February 17). Charlotte Observer. Retrieved from http://www.charlotteobserver.com/opinion/editorials/article200636304.html

Image on a website

Basic Form:

Owner/Author/Creator. (Publication Date or n.d.). Title of image in italics [media type such as Painting, Mural, Photograph, Infographic, etc.]. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Emery, A. (2016). Flamingo [Photograph]. Retrieved from https://unsplash.com/@alanemery?photo=SYzUF6XcWBY

Work in an anthology or collection

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year). Title of work: Subtitle if necessary. In Editor First Initial(s) Lastname (Ed.), Title of anthology: subtitle (Volume number or page numbers). Publisher location: Publisher. (Original work published Year)

Examples:

Fassbinder, R.W. (1992). Imitation of life: On the films of Douglas Sirk. In M. Töteberg & L. A. Lensing (Eds.), The anarchy of the imagination (pp. 77-89). Baltimore, MD: The Johns Hopkins University Press. (Original work published 1971)

Freud, S. (1953). The method of interpreting dreams: An analysis of a specimen dream. In J. Strachey (Ed. & Trans.), The standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud (Vol. 4). Retrieved from http://books.google.com/books (Original work published 1900)

Cite a Work in an Anthology or Collection Here

Recorded film (DVD or VHS format)

Basic Form:

Film director. (Director). (Year of publication). Film title [Motion picture]. Country: Production Company.

Example:

Soderbergh, S. (Director). (2000). Traffic [Motion picture]. United States: USA Home Entertainment.

Print magazine & newspaper articles

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Date of Publication). Article title. Publication title, Volume Number(issue number), pages.

 

Example:

Ghosh, B., Crain, C., & Bennett, B. (2007, December 24). Hold the cheers. Time, 170(26), 58-63.

Cite a Magazine Article Here (select Digital tab for online article)

Cite a Newspaper Article Here (select Digital tab for online article)

Print journal articles

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Article title. Journal title, Volume Number(issue number), pages.

Example:

Herbert, L. (2015). The limits of a legal rights approach to gendered human rights violations. International Journal of Human Rights, 12(4), 483-504.

Cite a Print Journal Article Here

YouTube & other online videos

Basic Form:

Author Last Name, First Initial or Poster's username. (Date of publication). Title of video [Video file]. Video posted to [URL]

Example:

Norton, R. (2006, November 4). How to train a cat to operate a light switch [Video file]. Video posted to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vja83KLQXZs

Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, etc.

Basic Form (Episode):

Writer, A. (Writer), & Director, A. (Director). (Year of Airing). Episode title [Television series episode]. In Executive Producer, A. (Executive Producer), TV series name. Retrieved from homepage URL

Example (Episode):

Kang, K. (Writer), & Fryman, P. (Director). (2006). Slap bet [Television series episode]. In Bays, C. (Executive Producer), How I met your mother. Retrieved from http://hulu.com

Basic Form (Movie):

Producer, A. (Producer), & Director, A. (Director). (Year of release). Movie title [Video file]. Retrieved from homepage URL

Example (Movie):

Kohler, W., Davidson, K., Knopfler, W, & DiCaprio, L. (Producers), & Ladkani, R., Davidson, K. (Directors). (2016). The ivory game [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.netflix.com

Tweet or other short message

Basic Form:

Last name, F. [Twitter handle]. (Year, Month Day). Content of tweet [Tweet]. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Trump, D. [realDonaldTrump]. (2017, January 3). I will be having a general news conference on JANUARY ELEVENTH in N.Y.C. Thank you [Tweet]. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/816433590892429312

Email or interview

Because emails and interviews do not provide recoverable data, they are not included in the list of references.

Emails and interviews should be parenthetically cited in the main text of your paper.

Basic Form:

(Communicator name, personal communication, Date)

Example:

(R.W. Jenson, personal communication, December 22, 2017)